NEW BRITAIN, Conn. (Aug. 14, 2015) – Hospital for Special Care (HSC) is honoring eight area students for their academic achievements. The first Florence Timura Medical Student Scholarship was awarded to Caitlin M. Bette-Waner, a fourth-year medical student at University of Connecticut (UConn) School of Medicine in the amount of $12,000. This scholarship was made possible through a contribution to HSC by Mike Timura, a longtime friend, business associate and benefactor of the Hospital, in honor of his wife Florence.

The following annual scholarships also were awarded:

  • The Rona Botwinick and Florence Timura Nursing Scholarship: Nefeli M. Makris, a sophomore at UConn School of Nursing, $3,000.
  • The Rona Botwinick Nursing Scholarship: Lauren N. Durand, a sophomore at the University of Massachusetts School of Nursing, $3,000.
  • The Florence Timura Nursing Scholarship: Kayla Rose Beaupre, a graduate of Northwest Catholic High School who will be attending Pennsylvania State University School of Nursing, $2,750.
  • The Dr. Michael Timura, III Nursing Scholarship: Kiernan P. Wyllie, a senior at Central Connecticut State University (CCSU) Department of Nursing, $2,750.
  • The Paul Sutula Nursing Scholarship: Paulo Fernando Gouveia, a junior at UConn School of Nursing, $2,500.
  • The Elizabeth Timura Gold Star Mother Healthcare Professions Scholarship: Julie C. Taing, a graduate of New Britain High School Health Academy attending UConn and majoring in chemistry, $2,500
  • The John Timura Management of Information Systems Scholarship: Derrik R. Bosse, a senior at CCSU majoring in computer sciences, $2,500.

HSC scholarships are funded through the Hospital for Special Care Foundation, Inc.’s Annual Giving Program, through the generous gifts of hospital employees, and, in part, through the Advancement for Nursing Endowment Fund established by Mr. Allen Botwinick and Mr. Mike Timura in celebration of and in honor of their wives. Mr. Timura funded additional nursing scholarships.  For more information, please visit

Pictured (L to R): John J. Votto, DO, FCCP, president and CEO, Hospital for Special Care;

Gary Timura, representing the Timura family; Lauren N. Durand (Sophomore at UMass – Nursing); Lynn Ricci, FACHE, senior vice president and COO, Hospital for Special Care; Julie C. Taing,  (NBHS to UConn - Chemistry); Paulo Fernando Gouveia (Junior at CCSU – Nursing) and Robin Nicoli, representing the Botwinick family.